So This is Permanence - Joy Division Lyrics and Notebooks

Author(s): Ian Curtis; Jon Savage (Editor); Deborah Curtis (Introduction by)

post punk

So This Is Permanence presents the intensely personal writings of one of the most enigmatic and influential songwriters and performers of the late twentieth century, Joy Division's Ian Curtis.


The fact of the band's relatively few releases belies the power and enduring fascination its music holds, especially in light of Curtis's tragic suicide in 1980 on the eve of the band's first American tour.


Reproduced in this beautiful clothbound volume are Curtis's never-before-seen handwritten lyrics, accompanied by earlier drafts and previously unpublished pages from his notebooks that shed fascinating light on his writing and creative process.


Also included are an insightful and moving foreword by Curtis's widow Deborah, a substantial introduction by writer Jon Savage, and an appendix featuring books from Curtis's library and a selection of fanzine interviews, letters, and other ephemera from his estate.

Product Information

So This is Permanence: Joy Division Lyrics and Notebooks is an incredible visual collection of the personal writings of musical icon Ian Curtis.

Ian Curtis was born in Stretford, Lancashire, and grew up in Macclesfield. Joy Division released two seminal post-punk albums: Unknown Pleasures (1979) and the posthumous Closer (1980). Jon Savage is the author of England's Dreaming, Teenage and The England's Dreaming Tapes.

General Fields

  • : 9780571309573
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : August 2015
  • : September 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ian Curtis; Jon Savage (Editor); Deborah Curtis (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : Main
  • : 304