Product detail

Rip it Up and Start Again: Postpunk, 1978-1984

Rip it Up and Start Again: Postpunk, 1978-1984

Author: Simon Reynolds
$24.95(AUD)  inc GST

Taking a big-picture view of the post-punk period, this book recreates a time of tremendous urgency and idealism in pop music. It presents many anecdotes and insights, and features the likes of Joy Division, The Fall, Pere Ubu, PiL and Talking Heads. It is of interest to fans of post-punk music.


Rowan writes: While lamenting the demise of serious music journalism, John Harris, of The Guardian, recently called Reynolds' book 'by far the most impressive' of the past few years. In recent times the scratchy frenetics and jangly introspection of the post-punk aesthetic has come back in a big way, but Reynolds takes us back to where it all began: the fascinating years of an unlikely, experimental fusion in which the DIY spirit of punk melded with genres as diverse as art-rock, disco, funk, reggae and synthpop, to produce a generation of artists whose work was as original as it has been influential. This fascinating work traces these various strands, taking in the contextual backdrop of politics, fashion and the art world, to give a magisterial view of an incredibly fertile period of music history.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780571215706
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : February 2006
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Simon Reynolds
  • : Paperback
  • : 624