Product detail

Negrophobia - An Urban Parable

Negrophobia - An Urban Parable

Author: Darius James; Amy Abugo Ongiri (Introduction by)
$24.95(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description
A provocative, raucous dark comedy about race and racism in America, now back in print after twenty-five years and with a new preface by the author. Darius James's scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, and truly hilarious and scary Negrophobia collides head-on with the hydra-headed phenomenon of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other, Negrophobia begins with the blond bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles is strangely transformed.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781681373294
  • : New York Review of Books, Incorporated, The
  • : New York Review of Books, Incorporated, The
  • : February 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Darius James; Amy Abugo Ongiri (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 208