Kindred

Author: Octavia E. Butler
Homepage_9781472258229

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $19.95(AUD)
  • : 9781472258229
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : April 2018
  • : 19.99
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Octavia E. Butler
  • : Paperback
  • :
  • : 320
  • :
Barcode 9781472258229
9781472258229

Description

Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò. 'One of the most significant literary artists of the 20th century' Junot Diaz '[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave. When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again. Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them. And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun. Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. What readers are saying about KINDRED: 'It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year. Incredible. I couldn't put it down' 'The narrator is us - we see the abomination and humiliation of slavery not through a slave's eyes, but our modern-day eyes, and it makes it all the more powerful' 'A must-read for everyone' 'Emotionally and viscerally alive and challenging. I don't know how I missed it before now'