Hawksmoor (Penguin Decades)

Author(s): Peter Ackroyd


"Penguin Decades" bring you the novels that helped shape modern Britain. When they were published, some were bestsellers, some were considered scandalous, and others were simply misunderstood. All represent their time and helped define their generation, while today each is considered a landmark work of storytelling. Peter Ackroyd's "Hawksmoor" was first published in 1985. Alternating between the eighteenth century, when Nicholas Dyer, assistant to Christopher Wren, builds seven London churches that house a terrible secret, and the 1980s, when London detective Nicholas Hawksmoor is investigating a series of gruesome murders on the sight of certain old churches, "Hawksmoor" is a brilliant tale of darkness and shadow.

Product Information

Winner of Whitbread Book Awards: Novel Category 1985.


General Fields

  • : 9780141042015
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : April 2010
  • : January 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Peter Ackroyd
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 288