The Book of Numbers

Author(s): Joshua Cohen

fiction

When the enigmatic billionare founder and CEO of Tetration, the world's most powerful tech company, is diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer, he hires a failed novelist, Josh Cohen, to ghostwrite his memoirs. This tech mogul, known only as 'Principal', takes Josh deep into his own mind, and outlines the history of Tetration, which started by revolutionising the search engine and later ventured into smartphones, computer manufacturing and the surveillance of American citizens. Accompanying Josh on a mind-bending world tour of local Tetration offices, from Palo Alto to Dubai, Principal soon initiates Josh into the secret pretext of the autobiography project, and the life-or-death stakes that surround its publication.

$32.95(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

For readers of David Foster Wallace and George Saunders, the breakout novel from a prodigiously talented author about a ghostwriter pulling back the veils of the tech world and searching for the meanings of life in the Internet Era.

Joshua Cohen was born in 1980 in New Jersey. He is the book critic for Harper's Magazine and the author of several books, including Four New Messages and Attention! A (Short) History. His non-fiction has appeared in the New York Times, the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, The Forward, The Believer, the New York Observer, the London Review of Books, n+1 and elsewhere.

General Fields

  • : 9781846558665
  • : Vintage
  • : Harvill Secker
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Joshua Cohen
  • : Paperback
  • : 608