American Musicals - The Complete Books and Lyrics of 16 Broadway Classics, 1927-1969: (A Library of America Collector's Boxed Set)

Author(s): Laurence Maslon

performing arts

including "Oklahoma!," " South Pacific," "Guys and Dolls," "Fiddler on the Roof," "Cabaret," and 11 other great shows, this landmark collection is your ticket to the Golden Age of the Broadway musical: The Broadway musical is one of America's great indigenous popular forms, a glorious hybrid that emerged "out of our speech, our tempo, our moral attitudes, our way of moving" (as Leonard Bernstein put it). Now in a landmark two-volume collection, The Library of America presents sixteen enduring masterpieces charting the Broadway musical's narrative tradition from the groundbreaking "Show Boat" (1927) through the genre's Golden Age to its response to the turbulent 1960s with the Tony Award-winning shows "Cabaret" and "1776. "Based on new research, this historic collection presents the complete libretto of each musical in its Broadway opening night version, making these beloved stories available as never before. Irving Berlin and Moss Hart's "As Thousands Cheer" is published here for the first time. "Show Boat" and "Pal Joey" are presented in newly restored versions. Seven other shows, including "South Pacific," "Guys and Dolls," and "My Fair Lady," return to print for the first time in decades. Each of these classic musicals has evolved over time, receiving many important revivals and new productions. This Library of America boxed set offers readers unprecedented insight into this living history with a selection of hard-to-find or previously unpublished supplementary items, including lyrics of songs dropped out-of-town or added in later revivals. Lavishly illustrated-- with 64 pages of photographs and other images drawn from the original productions, the set also contains biographical sketches of the book writers and lyricists; cast lists and other information about the shows' Broadway openings; and detailed accounts of the path each show took on the road to Broadway. As a special feature, the box includes 16 full-color postcards reproducing the original show posters. AMERICAN MUSICALS contains: "Show Boat" Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II - Music by Jerome Kern "As Thousands Cheer" Lyrics and music by Irving Berlin - Sketches by Moss Hart "Pal Joey" Book by John O'Hara - Music by Richard Rodgers - Lyrics by Lorenz Hart "Oklahoma!" Music by Richard Rodgers - Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II "On the Town" Book and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green - Music by Leonard Bernstein "Finian's Rainbow" Music by Burton Lane - Lyrics by E. Y. Harburg - Book by Fred Saidy and E. Y. Harburg "Kiss Me, Kate" Music and lyrics by Cole Porter - Book by Sam[uel] and Bella Spewack "South Pacific" Music by Richard Rodgers - Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II "Guys and Dolls" Music and lyrics by Frank Loesser - Book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows "The Pajama Game" Book by George Abbott and Richard Bissell - Music and lyrics by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross "My Fair Lady" Adaptation and lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner - Music by Frederick Loewe "Gypsy" Book by Arthur Laurents - Music by Jule Styne Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum" Book by Larry Gelbart and Burt Shevelove - Lyrics and music by Stephen Sondheim "Fiddler on the Roof" Book by Joseph Stein - Music by Jerry Bock - Lyrics by Sheldon Harnick "Cabaret" Book by Joe Masteroff - Music by John Kander - Lyrics by Fred Ebb "1776" Music and lyrics by Sherman Edwards - Book by Peter Stone


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Laurence Maslon is an arts professor in the Graduate Acting Program at New York University's Tisch School of the Arts. The author or editor of several books about musical theater, including "The South Pacific Companion," he co-wrote two episodes of the Emmy-winning "Broadway: The American Musical" with Michael Kantor, as well as the companion volume. He also wrote the acclaimed American Masters/Thirteen documentary "Richard Rodgers: The Sweetest Sounds." He lives in New York.

General Fields

  • : 9781598532579
  • : Library of America
  • : Library of America
  • : September 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Laurence Maslon
  • : Mixed media product
  • : 1600