Product detail

Cleaning Up New York - The 1970s Cult Classic

Cleaning Up New York - The 1970s Cult Classic

Author: Bob Rosenthal
$23.50 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Cleaning Up New York has been a word-of-mouth 1970s cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in a limited edition. The East Village, NYC, 1976. A 26-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner? The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors. Bob knows one thing: dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and intimate dramas; weird vibes and strange discoveries; appreciation, dependency, dismissal...and seduction. Even if he's asked to clean up a loft the size of the Strand - and he is, and it's above the legendary bookstore - he coffees up with a donut, fortifies himself with some (pocketed) weed, and sets out anew, with disarming insight, originality, and humor. With alternate chapters devoted to practical cleaning tips, Cleaning Up New York is a quirky reinvention in the tradition of George Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London, Studs Terkel's chronicles of the working class, and Mrs. Beeton's Book of Household Management; its narrator a spiritual descendent of Candide, Ida Tarbell, and Holden Caulfield.

Promotion info
Cleaning Up New York is a fascinating and vibrant look at the insides and outsides of New York City through the eyes of Bob Rosenthal, a 26-year-old starving poet who would go on to be Allen Ginsberg's secretary for 20 years, as well as an excellent writer and poet in his own right. Told with warm wit and insight, Cleaning Up New York gives readers an unforgettable tour of the city's homes and inhabitants, and even some expert cleaning tips along the way.
I first read "Cleaning Up New York "when it was published in the 1970s and I ve been recommending it to people ever since. It s one of those great, rare works the style of which immaculate, with unexpected descriptor glints, and funny, low-key frankness perfectly embodies its subject, namely the revelation of soft shine in humble corners of New York. it s a miracle and you don t have to be clean to appreciate it. Richard Hell Bob Rosenthal s "Cleaning Up New York" is a perfect little gem of a book. There is not one wasted or misplaced word in this chronicle, which manages to contain an awful lot of the world in its few pages. It s not only about the city and its range of denizens, but also about the art of living, the satisfaction of humble work, the way poetry arises from daily experience. and if that weren t enough, it also includes really useful advice about cleaning! Luc Sante ["Cleaning Up New York"] is one of the great neglected books of the 1970s, a classic short s brilliant and playful...and eminently practical, too. "The Endless Bookshelf" blog Praise for "Straight Around Allen" Bob Rosenthal s unique, remarkable, and candid recollections of two decades working as secretary for Allen...are, quite frankly, essential reading. "The Allen Ginsberg Project" blog"
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781936941131
  • : Little Bookroom,U.S.
  • : Little Bookroom,U.S.
  • : June 2016
  • : 185mm X 134mm
  • : April 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Bob Rosenthal
  • : Paperback
  • : 200